Bryan Mollett, the career Kickstart

Image

Bryan Mollett is releasing a photography compilation from the streets of Vancouver, BC through the aid of crowd funding.

 

 “It will be interesting to see the power of social media. I think word of mouth as well will be a big part of it and even just the kick starter website.” Bryan Mollett, 26, started his photography career as a teenager shooting videos and pictures of his friends skateboarding. Now he aims to release a photography compilation of street photographs covering the Vancouver area. The photos primarily focus on east Vancouver and the poverty stricken, but Bryan also provides a contrast through featuring religious imagery and social statement.

            Mollett got his first photo compilation exposure for the “This Is East Van” photography book. He had more photos in this compilation than anyone else. This is when Bryan started to gain confidence in the art of photography, becoming less concerned about judgement, and more concerned about perfecting his shots, asking friends and family their opinions on many of them.

Every photo makes a statement of its own, and every photo is a unique recorded snapshot of history that Mollett feels necessary to be immortalized in the medium that he’s so passionate about. A nun stands at a bus stop next to an ad for American Apparel featuring mild adultery, a child with dreadlocks and tattered clothing runs through the street alone. “I will be including different gifts as to what people pledge towards the final goal,” says Mollett. “I will be letting everyone close to me and the followers I have gained so far on this journey as soon as I get the video up.” He has yet to release the video, but says that it’s in the works.

 “My best experience in my photography journey had to have been last year in 2012 when my friend gave me a gift of true friendship by signing me up for a secret vacation and sending me to New York City to help build my portfolio.” Bryan says, referring to a television show he was lucky enough to be a part of. “I’d say the worst experience is the price of film in Canada. But tomorrow’s another day.” Bryan is a dedicated film photographer, even an advocate at times. “My digital camera spends most of its time at home.” Bryan shoots most of his pictures with a Leica M6, but he also uses a Yashica Mat 124g, though admits not for a while. Reflecting on the old days, he wishes the best of luck to young photographers. “Just keep shooting. Shoot whatever makes you happy, whatever you’re feeling like at that point in your life.”

On his days off from his full-time job with Shaw, Bryan likes to go downtown as early in the morning as possible and stay until he runs out of film.“I just love watching life,” says Bryan. “Whether it’s on the skytrain, driving, walking, I am just constantly scanning what’s in front of me, and what I can see. I really enjoy just walking around with my camera, finding things, it’s almost like a meditation for me.” No matter what the situation, he will come out of it with a smile on his face, and camera in hand.

Leave a Reply

